Joan Jett To Release Her First Acoustic Album

Joan Jett New Album

Feature Photo: Randy Miramontez /

Joan Jett is back with her first-ever acoustic album that also features her longtime band The Blackhearts. It’s been a long time since Joan Jett released an album with her backup band The Blackhearts. The last album released by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts was the 2013 release Unvarnished.  However, there was the soundtrack album to the fantastic Joan Jett documentary Bad Reputation which was released in 2018.

The new album entitled Changeup will be the first ever all acoustic album that Joan Jett & The Blackhearts have ever released. Thinking back to all the Joan Jett albums, we can’t really recall too much music done acoustically. Every Joan Jett & The Blackhearts album was usually just a roaring in your face rock and roll affair. It will be interesting to hear how the band takes on the acoustic world.  Fortunately, we get a sneak peak at the album as Joan Jett & The Blackhearts have released a premier single from the album entitled  “(I’m Gonna) Run Away.”  This one is interesting because it’s pretty much all guitars and no drums. Joan Jett’s vocals are upfront and sounds great. She still sounds like she is twenty years old.

The Changeup album features songs from both her solo career and her time with the Runaways. However many of the Runaways songs on the album also were re-recorded by Joan Jett & Blackhearts over the years. One of them was the Runaways first hit entitled “Cherry Bomb,” which Joan Jett re-recorded early on during her solo career. Other much loved Runaways songs like “I Love Playing With Fire,”You Drive Me Wild,” and “You’re Too Possessive,” also appear on the new Changup album.

The album closes with the Bruce Springsteen penned song “Light Of Day.” That great song also served as the title song to the rock and roll movie Joan Jett made with Michael J Fox also called Light Of Day in the early 1990s.

Covid cancelled many tours, but one of the most thrilling tours it postponed was The Stadium Tour which will feature Joan Jett, Motley Crue, Poison and Def Leppard. Now that’s a show we do not want to miss. We caught Joan Jett a few years back in New York when she was touring with Boston. In our opinion she blew Boston of the stage that night at Jones Beach. It will be interesting to see how they line up the bands in order of performance on the Stadium Tour.

The new album is set to be released on March 25 as a digital release. Sony’s announcement that the album is a digital release does not identify a release date for a CD or vinyl issue. Hopefully they will release the album on a format we can hold in our hands. It’s a scary time being a music collector when some labels are releasing digital only releases. Below is the track listing for the new album.

Track Listing for the Changeup Album

1. (I’m Gonna) Run Away
2. You’re Too Possessive
3. Long Time
4. Victim Of Circumstance
5. Coney Island Whitefish
6. Love Is Pain
7. Oh Woe Is Me
8. You Drive Me Wild
9. Frustrated
10. Bad Reputation
11. Fake Friends
12. Fresh Start
13. Soulmates To Strangers
14. Make It Back
15. Fragile
16. I Love Playin’ With Fire
17. Cherry Bomb
18. I Want You
19. Crimson And Clover
20. A Hundred Feet Away
21. Androgynous
22. You Don’t Know What You’ve Got
23. School Days
24. Good Music
25. Light Of Day

Joan Jett To Release Her First Acoustic Album article published on Classic© 2022 claims ownership of all its original content and Intellectual property under United States Copyright laws and those of all other foreign countries. No one person, business or any organizations is allowed to re-publish any of our original content anywhere on the web or in print without our permission. All photos used are either public domain creative commons photos or licensed officially from Shutterstock under license with All photo credits have been placed at end of article. Protection Status

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Vaccines Songs
Top 10 Songs By The Vaccines
Manic Street Preachers Albums
Complete List Of Manic Street Preachers Albums
Ben Folds Five Albums
Top 10 Ben Folds Five Songs
Hank Williams Songs
Top 10 Hank Williams Songs
Led Zeppelin Tribute Albums
Top 10 Led Zeppelin Tribute Albums
Classic Rock Bands That Released Five Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Five Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Four Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Four Perfect Albums In A Row
Voivod Albums
Top 10 Voivod Albums
Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Indutees 2022
Pat Benatar Finally Inducted Into Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame And The Larry Mac Show
96.1 KLPX Larry Mac Show Interviews Brian Kachejian Of
Elton John's Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Box To Be Released June 2022
Elton John’s Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Box To Be Released June 2022
8 Bands That Define The Heavy In Heavy Metal
8 Bands That Define The Heavy In Heavy Metal