Def Leppard Is Back With New Single, Album, And Stadium Tour

Def Leppard New Album, single and tour

Legendary rock and roll artists Def Leppard have returned big time with a new single release from their upcoming album entitled Diamond Star Halos. The new album will be Def Leppard’s first new studio album in seven years. Their last studio album entitled simply Def Leppard was released back in 2015. In order to give their fans a preview of the new record, Def Leppard has just issued the album’s debut single entitled “Kick. The song sound like a throwback to 1970s classic rock with a very heavy Joan Jett meets T. Rex feel. It’s kind of like “Bang A Gong” meets “I Love Rock And Roll.” At first, listen it doesn’t even sound like Def Leppard until we get to the middle section where we hear that distinctive Def Leppard backing vocals sound.

The song “Kick,” has a very stadium-friendly chorus. One can tell that was on Def Leppard’s minds as they composed the song knowing fully well that they were about to embark on a massive stadium tour that have been postponed for two years. In an interview, lead vocalist Joe Elliott admitted that the band was very excited to have new music to promote on the upcoming tour. Performing shows while promoting a new album seems to have lit a fire in the band instead of just going through the motions as an oldies act performing all their past hits.

Def Leppard will not be the only musical act promoting a new album on the tour. Joan Jett who is also part of the tour has just released a new album in which she does acoustic versions of her classic hits. However, it will be interesting to see how Joan Jett interprets those songs on a massive loud rock and roll tour with the likes of Def Leppard, Motley Crue, and Poison. What a show!

The new album Diamond Star Halos is set to be released on May 27, 2022. The album also features a couple of numbers with bluegrass legend Alison Krauss. The stunning vocalist is making her second collaboration on vinyl with classic rock and roll legends as she has already released two brilliant albums with Led Zeppelin’s Robert Plant. Based on the sound of the single and the collaboration with Alison Krauss, this may be an album unlike any that Def Leppard has ever released. We are really looking forward to hearing this one. Below is the tracklisting for Def Leppard’s new album.

1. ‘Take What You Want’
2. ‘Kick’
3. ‘Fire It Up’
4. ‘This Guitar’ (featuring Alison Krauss)
5. ‘SOS Emergency’
6. ‘Liquid Dust’
7. ‘U Rok Mi’
8. ‘Goodbye For Good’
9. ‘All We Need’
10. ‘Open Your Eyes’
11. ‘Gimme a Kiss’
12. ‘Angels’
13. ‘Lifeless’ (featuring Alison Krauss)
14. ‘Unbreakable’

Below are the tour dates for the Stadium Tour shows featuring Def Leppard, Joan Jett, Poison, and Motley Crue.

Thursday, June 16 – Atlanta, GA @ Truist Park
Saturday, June 18 – Miami, FL @ Hard Rock Stadium
Sunday, June 19 – Orlando, FL @ Camping World Stadium
Wednesday, June 22 – Washington, DC @ Nationals Park
Friday, June 24 – Queens, NY @ Citi Field
Saturday, June 25 – Philadelphia, PA @ Citizens Bank Park
Tuesday, June 28 – Charlotte, NC @ Bank of America Stadium
Thursday, June 30 – Nashville, TN @ Nissan Stadium
Saturday, July 2 – Jacksonville, FL @ TIAA Bank Field
Tuesday, July 5 – St. Louis, MO @ Busch Stadium
Friday, July 8 – Chicago, IL @ Wrigley Field
Sunday, July 10 – Detroit, MI @ Comerica Park
Tuesday July 12 – Hershey, PA @ Hersheypark Stadium
Thursday, July 14 – Cleveland, OH @ FirstEnergy Stadium
Friday, July 15 – Cincinnati, OH @ Great American Ball Park
Sunday, July 17 – Milwaukee, WI @ American Family Field
Tuesday, July 19 – Kansas City, MO @ Kauffman Stadium
Thursday, July 21 – Denver, CO @ Coors Field
Friday, August 5 – Boston, MA @ Fenway Park
Saturday, August 6 – Boston, MA @ Fenway Park
Monday, August 8 – Toronto, ON @ Rogers Centre
Wednesday, August 10 – Orchard Park, NY @ Highmark Stadium
Friday, August 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ PNC Park
Sunday, August 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ U.S. Bank Stadium
Tuesday, August 16 – Indianapolis, IN @ Lucas Oil Stadium
Friday, August 19 – Houston, TX @ Minute Maid Park
Sunday, August 21 – San Antonio, TX @ Alamodome
Monday, August 22 – Arlington, TX @ Globe Life Field
Thursday, August 25 – Glendale, AZ @ State Farm Stadium
Saturday, August 27 – Inglewood, CA @ SoFi Stadium
Sunday, August 28 – San Diego, CA @ Petco Park
Wednesday, August 31 – Seattle, WA @ T-Mobile Park
Friday, September 2 – Vancouver, BC @ BC Place
Sunday, September 4 – Edmonton, AB @ Commonwealth Stadium
Wednesday, September 7 – San Francisco, CA @ Oracle Park
Friday, September 9 – Las Vegas, NV @ Allegiant Stadium

Feature Photo: TDC Photography / Shutterstock.com

Def Leppard Is Back With New Single, Album, And Stadium Tour article published on Classic RockHistory.com© 2022

Classicrockhistory.com claims ownership of all its original content and Intellectual property under United States Copyright laws and those of all other foreign countries. No one person, business, or organization is allowed to re-publish any of our original content anywhere on the web or in print without our permission. All photos used are either public domain creative commons photos or licensed officially from Shutterstock under license with ClassicRockHistory.com. All photo credits have been placed at end of the article.

DMCA.com Protection Status

Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Vaccines Songs
Top 10 Songs By The Vaccines
Manic Street Preachers Albums
Complete List Of Manic Street Preachers Albums
Ben Folds Five Albums
Top 10 Ben Folds Five Songs
Hank Williams Songs
Top 10 Hank Williams Songs
Led Zeppelin Tribute Albums
Top 10 Led Zeppelin Tribute Albums
Classic Rock Bands That Released Five Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Five Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Four Perfect Albums In A Row
Classic Rock Bands That Released Four Perfect Albums In A Row
Voivod Albums
Top 10 Voivod Albums
Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Indutees 2022
Pat Benatar Finally Inducted Into Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame
ClassicRockHistory.com And The Larry Mac Show
96.1 KLPX Larry Mac Show Interviews Brian Kachejian Of ClassicRockHistory.com
Elton John's Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Box To Be Released June 2022
Elton John’s Madman Across The Water 50th Anniversary Box To Be Released June 2022
8 Bands That Define The Heavy In Heavy Metal
8 Bands That Define The Heavy In Heavy Metal